The second half of life..

By twigs

Autumn advancing

After the high of last night's achievements I came crashing down to earth with a massive thump this morning when I found that my computer appeared to have died. Fortunately I managed to stir it into life again but only to discover that I may have lost the contents of my hard drive. I was devastated. I swore then swore some more. I alsmost cried.

At work I described the symptoms to the techy boys . . . . . . they hmmm'd a bit but both thought it sounded like a corrupted profile rather than a terminal problem. They suggested I bring it in so I made a quick dash home to get it then left it in their capable hands (sometimes it's a real advantage living less than a handful of kms from work!)

When I visited a few hours later things were looking up. There were signs of life although the pulse was feint. Still, relief was beginning to replace dread.

We had a parent-teacher afternoon/early evening during which time I had an opportunity to check progress some more. More positive signs but it needed time. It's staying in hospital tonight.

To be continued . . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.