Timber

I spent the afternoon hanging around in the shade in the Parque dos Namorados in the south-eastern corner of Maputo where the city pokes into the sea. It was relaxing except for the occasional group of youths blasting out hip tunes on their loudspeaker, such as the hit 2013 track Timber by Ke$ha.

I’m reading one of those books that has to be taken very slowly, Adults in the Room, by the Greek economist Yanis Varoufakis. He was briefly Greece’s Finance Minister during some of the turbulent machinations conducted by the most powerful international institutions on the matter of Greece’s debt and bailouts. I’m learning about the interconnectedness of countries’ financial predicaments and it’s not particularly cheery.

Later from a vantage point on Avenida Freidrich Engels I could see the pool at Clube Naval. I want to lounge next to that pool and I wonder how I can become exclusive enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.