Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Diving

Last night I asked The Man if he fancied a day away. My suggestion was for us to go down to the south of the county to Leighton Moss RSPB Nature reserve. Would he say "No, thank you!"? Not likely!

So, the weather was due to be perfect, so off we went. It was such a last-minute decision that I didn't get a chance to see if any other blippers fancied going.

To be honest, I've been lacking in energy since I caught a "cold" at Christmas. I didn't know if I would last the day on me feet. I needed a lot of rests. Having said that, I managed to get to all the hides except the furthest Eric Morecambe hide so I missed seeing the avocets.

Because I planned this visit late, we weren't able to stay long enough to see the murmeration: I had a Sainsbury's delivery due.

By the end of the day I had recovered from my tiredness and my step score was 12,000 which is a score I hadn't reached this year. Most days I'm doing less than 4,000.

Bird list seen by at least one of us:

Robin, marsh tit, wigeon, pintail, mallard, coot, blue tit, chaffinch, crow, nuthatch, treecreeper, blackbird, long tailed tit, mute swan, black cap, cormorant, black backed gull, black headed gull, pewit, teal, oyster catcher, shoveler, wren, pheasant, Canada goose, greylag goose, tufted duck, pochard, goldeneye, avocet, godwit, redshank, house sparrow, magpie, great crested grebe, 
We heard but didn't see: bitterns and water rail.


My blip is one of the diving ducks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.