Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

You'd think from this image that I'd been using string to sew a buttonhole on a printed hessian sack. I haven't. I've been sewing what used to be a flimsy cotton frock using standard sewing machine thread, but the light streaming in the window has encouraged the camera to go into extraordinary detail. Sadly it makes my tiny stitches look coarse and clumsy. Normally I'd make buttonholes with the sewing machine but the fabric is so flimsy and the stress on the buttonhole so great that I have had to reinforce it with felt and the sewing machine didn't like that one little bit.
These buttonholes are a job that has needed doing for a few years and today I was finally motivated to finish off some unfinished work. I also made four little mobiles that I had designed almost four years ago but never got around to making.
I also fixed the shelf in the cupboard in this flat so that it accommodates my vacuum cleaner properly, so while the vacuum cleaner was out and about I actually used it. Imagine! Using the vacuum cleaner when the six nations is on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.