Powdonnet Well

Morning spent faffing, cutting the grass, talking to the neighbours about fencing and then they got their landlord, who lives in the village, to come over and we all seemed to be happy with my plan to put up some fencing to create a bit more privacy.

The day slid away somehow and it was nearly 4 by the time I decided to do something in the exercise department (thinking of Arachne and Veronica’s blips and conversations). I decided to get on my bike and do a bit of scouting for a local source of wild garlic as I hadn’t seen anything promising so far. I went to check out a bridlepath down by the Lyvennet and very briefly got excited because I thought I’d discovered an off the beaten track swim spot ... until I went to check out the sign on the river bank which roughly translated said, oiks, piss off, don’t even think about swimming here. Demoralised I got back on my bike thinking about the last talk I’d been to at Words by the Water just before lockdown, Guy Shrubsole’s ‘Who Owns England’. In need of holy well fortification I went on to Morland to visit one of my first ever holy wells. Time for a re-visit, I thought. If only Morland wasn’t so hilly but I was rewarded with young holy Easter ledge leaves and found some wild garlic on my way back as well.

Paula re-visited the well after lockdown lifted and writes more about it in her blip here ... https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2718862624631556198

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.