Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

The Paper Lady

Today we visited the superb gardens at East Ruston Old Vicarage.  I'd read about them a few years ago and wanted to visit, and I was not disappointed.  They are privately owned and have been developed by the owners over the last 50 years from what was just fields.  A lot of different garden areas ranging from woodland to highly formal, Mediterranean and desert.  Certainly well worth a look, and I've added some extras of the gardens.

My main shot is of one of the many sculptures around the garden.. This is titled 'The Paper Woman', and an inscription from the artist, Bill Cordaroy, reads:

"I wanted to sculpt the figure of a country woman in a simple form which could be appreciated by sight and touch.

I want people to see not just the figure of an old paper lady.  Someone who brought up a large family, manipulating the sometimes inadequate housekeeping with a conjurers sleight of hand, with no resentment.  No thought of politics, art or sport - other than her love for a few pence on the horses!  Someone there for anyone in need - listening and chatting as she sold her newspapers door to door."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.