"Where am I"?

The photograph on the left is from 25 October 1985, Johanna was born 06 October so is nearly 3 weeks old.
Daniel is 8 years old, I'm 35 and Marlane would be 32.
The photograph is on our landing and Harriet brought it to me to ask who the people were. When I explained who we were, and that her Mummy, Julia, was in Granny's tummy in the picture, she asked "Where am I?" HAHAHAHAHAHAHA 1985 is an unimaginable long time ago for a 3 year old.
It was taken in our bungalow in Jiddah where I was communication/Installation manager for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Consulate, near the lagoon with, what was, the highest fountain in the world at that time but is now relegated to number 5, although some of the 'higher ones' are cheats as they are on different levels! Look up the "King Fahd Fountain, Jeddah".
A few months later I was transferred to the new Saudi MoFA Headquarters in Sulimaniya, Riyadh, to take over as the Project Manager for the Ministry communications world-wide. What a fantastic, and interesting, job. We really enjoyed our years working and living in Saudi.

On the Right is the final decoration of the cake made yesterday. Instead of a sandwich cake we left it as two separate cakes so Isabella and Harriet could decorate one each. They spread the chocolate icing, then the whipped cream and added the Cadbury's little Easter eggs across the top. 
I know I'm going to regret it in the morning but I ate lots of those small eggs during the day, as well as a roast dinner (Beef and Pork)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.