The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Nose to nose

I was a little concerned this morning as I could only spot one of the two recently born calves, so after I had been over the Knott with Gus, we returned the way we had come. The herd had moved on, but I found these two. One of the little ones being tended by one of the older calves. Mum was nowhere to be seen. The older one was having a scratch on a large tree branch that lies here.

It was a much milder, more Spring-like morning. There was no frost on the ground. The shelducks were flying round the Knott prospecting for nest sites. oddly there were a couple of pairs of mallards standing on the grassy slopes quacking - a long way from water, there were big passage movements of meadow pipits heading south over the Knott. On the negative side, the ticks have come out of winter torpor, and I had to brush two off Gus's nose and remove another later that was attached. Ticks and Lyme's disease are becoming a serious scourge in this part of the country, and I know several people who have contracted the disease in the last few years.

An early blip for me. we are heading over to see Mags, and going out for the evening. I shall be back later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.