A host of golden….

So rare to see a woodland of wild daffodils but this is quite a well known site here in West Sussex. We’d never been, being heretofore Hampshire folk but armed with directions from my neighbour we set out and missed it completely.   Backtracking and following our instincts we finally found it. It’s an SSI and you can’t walk among them but there is a bridleway that goes alongside. 

What a wonderful sight, enhanced by the sunshine - the woodland floor glowed.  How much more pleasing is this soft yellow against the green than so many commercial daffs.  We have some in the wild part of the garden that are double and achingly bright yellow.  I am going to see if I can get some more natural coloured ones to go there instead and maybe when established get rid of the doubles.  

Or I’ll just pick them, I rather prefer daffs in a vase. 

Beet and C left at 5 and I did an LA call but I also managed to do some gardening - inspired by the wild daffodils.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.