The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calne (Sunday 20th March 2022)

Having been in for the most of the day I decided to go for an early evening stroll down to Castlefields Park looking for signs of Spring on the day of the vernal equinox that I could blip. I was hoping to catch sight of the heron but had to make do with a crane.

In fact there was very little going on. The flags beside Chaveywell Bridge had all been cut back to promote new growth, along with a lot of shrubs and plants and the footpath beside the River Marden was obscured in places by fallen trees, presumably from the recent storms. I had to return the way I had come and climb up to Castle Walk.

I took no pictures at all in Castlefields and found these growing in a verge at the side of a short alley that led on to the Curzon Park estate on the way home.

I wondered if these could be some kind of wildflower but then I saw the same plant growing in many of the neatly landscaped nearby front gardens and realised they must have been a job lot from when the developers were creating the estate, and if they hadn't actually been planted there were most likely garden escapees.

L.
Monday 21.3.2022 (1312 hr)

Blip #3606 (#3356 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #003
Blips/Extras In 2022 #044/265 + #019/100 Extras
Day #4380 (1027 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2750 (#2590 + 160 in archived blips)

Calne series
Flora series
Gardens series
Spring series

Taken with Pentax K-5 and Pentax HD P-DA 35mm F2.8 macro prime limited lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger & The Trinity - Light My Fire (recorded Spring 1969, Advision Studios, London)
Cerys Matthews has been featuring a new compilation featuring Brian Auger on her show in recent weeks, some with the singer Julie Driscoll. They were a memorable live act that I saw around the time of This Wheel's On Fire, and I bought three of their albums including the double-album Streetnoise, from which this Doors song, in a highly revised arrangement, was taken. These have been unavailable on CD for many years so I only have a "Best Of" that doesn't have quite a few essential items. However I gather that some box-sets will be released before the end of the year, including one featuring Julie Driscoll. I hope it will be comprehensive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.