Matt6000

By Matt6000

21 March

As we watch the horrors of young people still fighting wars, it is an important family date for me today.

On this day 21 March 1918, exactly 104 years ago my 18 year old paternal grandfather, also Matthew Gemmell fought in his first engagement near Bourlon Wood, Cambrai, Northern France as the Germans unleashed their Spring Offensive in the Great War. Using 50+ Divisions freed up from Russia they tried to break the British line and win the war before America could become fully engaged. They nearly did and it was a close run thing. The whole British line was thrown back and it became every man for himself at times. Thousands of prisoners were taken including very senior officers. My grandfathers future wife, my gran lost her brother Robbie in this battle. He was 18 as well and both were Gordon Highlanders.

My grandfathers diary is quite extraordinarily calm and understated:

"Big German attack opens on the whole British Front. I experience something new in life and go through some exciting moments during which the enemy is pressing hard. Our coy were forced to retire back day by day till finally on March 28 the Division gets relieved. Out of over 700 men there is only about 80 left. "  (11%)

I am the proud keeper of my Grandfathers diary and his service issue New Testament and some photographs. The diary is now very fragile but is a priceless family heirloom. It has appeared at the childrens and grandchildrens school as they study the Great War. Robbie is to the right and Grandpa the two photos to the left.

My father and I followed the route in the diary and were at Bourlon Wood on the 21 March 2001. A very emotional day as we stood as near the spot as we could estimate and considered that our family line nearly stopped that day. We also visited various sites around the Somme, basing ourselves in the beautiful town of Albert.

We also traced the Monument where Robbie’s name is inscribed amongst the missing. My poor Gran spent the whole of her life thinking that one day Robbie would walk through the door having regained his memory. How sad is that ? 

I now commemorate (but not celebrate) both November 11th and March 21st and always read the diary on both days and remember the sacrifice of all sides. I have Sunday school book prizes for both Grandpa and Robbie just a couple of years before. Funny isn’t it; one minute you're are a child getting a Sunday School prize, the next you are an adult, old enough to fight and die for your country.

Dulce et Decorum Est.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.