My Father

At the age of eleven.  I had forgotten about this Bible of his until I was going through some of our books in a newly decorated bedroom.  I can't make out which church it was, but it might have been this one

Then  I found what might have been a Bible given to servicemen (Extra).  My father joined the Royal Air Force right at the end of the Second World War, but he was too young to get going before it ended; he left a couple of years after that and became a banker in Middle East and Far East.  He retired in around 1979 to a house in Herefordshire which was the first one that he had ever owned (the bank provided accommodation abroad) but he died only three years later: 40 years ago this year.  

So I can't ask him about his time in Sunday School; but then there are many questions that I should have asked him, subjects that we could have discussed, before he died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.