Driving...

Mono Monday one word that makes you happy - driving

What follows is extremely personal but is the other half of me that few know about. Growing up I knew I was different. I didn't feel any emotions let alone know how to express them - except anger which lead to power and control - all very unhealthy things.

My parents tried to help me out in various ways but it wasn't until I took a class in anger management - the same class that the courts require people who commit domestic violence or have serious anger issues - that I finally got the help I needed. Most of the class was role playing and all the possible outcomes - learning to respond the normal way - which doesn't come natural to me. One day I was asked "what do I find enjoyable to do", I said "driving" and that lead to the question "why"?

Driving a car you have control and the power to do good or harm - for me it has always been that if I mess up, not only can I hurt myself but somebody that is innocent. This lead me to get my commercial driving license and I have been driving over 27 years since. Think a 70 foot long vehicle with almost zero room for error - this has taught me patience that I didn't have before.

In 2014 a dear friend Clare (blip tookie) suggested that I get back into photography and join Blip to not only show the countryside that many people may never have seen but also for the wonderful community it is. From this I learned my love of flowers and birds - both delicate and easily broken - which taught me even more ways to calm down.

Oh sure, a lot of other stuff happened in between but my blips mostly shows the good side of me. This mono Monday subject has allowed me to share the other side of me that I am not proud of but have learned to accept and control.

This photo is of me in the trucks drivers chair while parked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.