Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

MM426. A Russel Flint

What else could I choose, this lady makes every day a joy, I doubt I could be any happier. This was the first verse I ever read to her

I could not speak for amazement at your beauty 
As you came down the Garrick stair, 
Grey-green eyes like the turbulent Atlantic 
And floppy schoolgirl hair. 

I could see you in a Sussex teashop, 
Dressed in peasant weave and brogues, 
Turning over as firelight shone on brassware, 
Last year's tea-stained Vogues. 

I could see you as a large-eyed student, 
Frowning as you tried to learn, 
Or, head flung back, the confident girl prefect, 
Thrillingly kind and stern. 

I could not speak for amazement at your beauty; 
Yet when you spoke to me, 
You were calm and gentle as a rock pool 
Waiting, warm, for the sea. 

Wave on wave, I plunged in them to meet you 
In wave on wave I drown; 
Calm rock pool, on the shore of my security 
Hold me when the tide goes down.


John Betjeman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.