Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Of not going for a walk ...

Strange how used I've suddenly become to sunny, dry days - it'll end badly, I fear! I woke at 6 again today - I like to sleep with my curtains open, which means the room is very light far too early. In summer I have to pull some curtains or I'd get about 4 hours' sleep...

I've overdone things again today, I think ... I was back at Pilates class in the morning, and our teacher was fairly putting us through our paces. Having missed two weeks, I wasn't as flexible as I might have been, though I managed not to flop out of any of the moves. I was glad to learn from the friend who gives me a lift in that on her skiing holiday last week, despite not having skied for years, she didn't suffer from the screaming thighs at all, and put it down to that typical squat exercise that we do every lesson. Not that I'll be taking up skiing ...

When I got home, I contacted various organisations (like Jet2!) online before subsiding in a heap with lunch. Sleep kept overcoming me, but I hauled myself out to the back garden for a spot of slash and burn without the burning. As you can see from the left-hand photo in the collage, I filled two large bags with jaggy branches from the rosa rugosa that I love for its scent and blobs of bright pink but hate for its thorns and its growth rate. Later I wandered along our back lane to see the garage that was delivered on a massive lorry (no wonder our lane's like Passchendaele) and saw the forsythia bush in someone else's garden, so because we no longer have one I took a photo instead.

Now my back is screaming at me that I have to go for a bath and get to bed to take the weight off it. It's getting increasingly susceptible to aches and pains, my back - yet another horror. And I reflect on the immense suppleness of my younger granddaughter who won a medal in an Edinburgh City gymnastics competition yesterday - the 12+ class, despite her being only 11. Proud grandma alert - but now I need my bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.