Still not going..

Old habits die hard, I was one of the original participants in the AntiMcDonalds fayres of the 80's.

Interesting film 939 Flee
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=WzUVeuX1u04

Arachne wondered what I would make of this film that I introduced at our film club last night. Here are my initial thoughts.
1. First off cinema is a subjective experience and you should go and see this important film and form your own opinions,
2. A film with an amazing and harrowing story focussing in an almost psycho-analytic way on the long term psychological impact of the migrant or "flee' experience especially as it applies to children
3. Technically fascinating with a blend of animation styles and actual real documentary visuals.
4. I didn't find it as emotionally arresting as I expected. I wonder if that is because the animation in a way softened the impact of some of the critical moments or if the main characters secrecy and necessary emotional control in his life also had a slightly numbing effect.
5 Taken with Limbo, Breadwinner, Waltz with Bashir and many others an important addition and reminder of the futility of war and its impact on the citizenry short and long term.

Just a few initial thoughts. Certainly a film I will continue to reflect on as the week goes on which all the best films make me do

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.