More color!

I seem to be in a very bright and colorful mood - well at least in my paintings.  Probably combating the dreariness outside and the rather daunting list of 'cleaning' etc., that needs to be done before we leave for Cuba....3 sleeps.

I have to write here about a crazy synchronicity!!!

I follow a wonderful English artist, Trudy Montgomery , on Instagram, and yesterday she talked about an artist that has greatly influenced her painting....Barbara Rae .   So of course i had to google her!   Well imagine my surprise first of all to find out she is Scottish....always so cool to find fellow Scots .... but then i read that she was an art teacher at Ainslie Park Secondary School, from 68-69.....i was 16 then and so she was probably my art teacher!!!   I was totally gobsmacked!!!!   She is 8 years older than me so she would be have been just 24 at the time, and given that Ainslie Park was a notoriously rough school...she might not have very fond memories!   But i decided to take the bull by the horns so to speak, and wrote to her!!!!  

I have very vivid memories of being in art class and getting into a lot of trouble when my best friend and I decided it was more exciting to start painting each other than putting the paint on the paper....talk about hooligans eh!!!  I remember we were yanked out of our seats, brought to the front of the class and exhibited to our classmates....absolutely mortifying, but Christine and i just kept laughing every time we caught a glimpse of our painted faces....boy were we in trouble.   Off to the headmistress and we probably got 6 of the best....i think i've obliterated that from my memories :)

Anyway, we'll see if Barbara Rae, a very well established artist, writes back to me!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.