Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Wild-Eyed?

We went to Kelso again this morning to pick up a few things at Sainsbury's that you can't get in Jed. And also some fertiliser for the drive garden grass ( I wouldn't call it lawn). It grows thick and lush, and TM curses it as he mows it, he's forever having to empty the box. Why fertilise it, I ask when it grows at such a rate. He gives me a look ... What is it with men and lawns?

Naturally we had to go to Cafe U for coffee and a cheese scone, to exchange books in the Book Nook, and to refill the laundry liquid and handwash containers. 

A little walk was called for to compensate for the cheese scone, so we stopped in Roxburgh and set off along the old railway track. Actually there are two old tracks, one to Jedburgh and one to Kelso, and we got on the one we hadn't yet explored. It took us over the viaduct - high over the Tweed. That was exciting.

Even more so, the flowers along the old track edge. At the beginning there were big patches of dog violets, blue and white. And deeper into the woods, great sheets of Siberian squills. At least I think that's what they are. I've never seen such large clumps of violets, I almost think they are garden escapees, gone smaller over the years. There must have been a halt nearby, where the lines branched.

I spent the rest of the afternoon pricking out onion seedlings - and only managed to do half of them. It's not my favourite job. 

TM has gone dancing, I'm still avoiding, till the numbers in hospital go down a bit. They are still rising. Who would have thought it?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.