Lapwings

Another lovely sunny spring day, we walked round Fewston, a local réservoir this afternoon. Decided to take the scenic route back, hoping for curlews - and we saw a fair few, but it was the lapwings that caught my eye. Beautiful exotic looking birds, the males, with their aerial antics and the females waiting in the fields. I suspect these two are females, although I’m happy to be corrected, the extras shows them in a receptive pose with their russet coloured rumps - which they raise in the air, visible. Thought I might have caught them in the act - but no - it was very quick - or perhaps it was just foreplay?

I’m feeling overextended and that I’m spreading myself too thin right now, working with it, but recognising I need to be realistic about my capacity - that’s a challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.