Marsupium Photography

By magi

Day 12: rally in Dundee

Day 12 of the UCU strike for our pensions and working conditions. The strike does not only include lectures and (some) professors but also workers from academic related professional services such as librarians, IT people (such as myself), learning technologists, etc. We often get overlooked. Today we had a special ARPS picket outside Old College joined by GeoSciences (see extra). I left the picket line early to catch a train to Dundee to join the UCU Scotland rally. It was great to hear from the other branches what they are up to. Just when I thought I couldn't be shocked anymore about what our senior management is up to I heard the story of the Dundee Uni principal who had to resign because he thought he didn't have to pay rent (amongst other things). The universities are becoming capitalist exploitation machines, exploiting both students and staff. I was very glad to hear that I am not the only one who thinks that our struggle is part of a much bigger struggle about the shape of our society.  Our president, Vicky Blake (pictured above), gave a very rousing speech. This is going to be a long and hard struggle.

I did use the opportunity to explore Dundee a bit. I hadn't been in ages. So I checked out the Maryfield Tram Depot which is going to house the Dundee Museum of Transport and the HMS Unicorn, built in 1824. Unfortunately the ship was closed due to staff isolating. Ah well just need to visit another time.

Pictures of my wander and some more strike pictures on flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.