Living my dream

By Mima

Perambulations

This morning the dew was thick on the grass, after yesterday’s rain. My early check on the chooks and subsequent wander across the lawn to the garage to fill Bean’s food container for the day, was clearly visible.

The grass is far too wet to mow, so I’ve busied myself filling a large flower-bed-shaped hole with soil and compost from a pile in the drive. Also putting up a final length of new netting round the outer hen run, into which I’ll open the door at the weekend.

The new chooks are in the small enclosed run and coop for the time being, so they get used to it being home. The theory is that when they eventually free range across the paddock they’ll still return to the coop to sleep and to lay. And I won’t be hunting high and low for my breakfast eggs.

I spent the morning gardening at K’s…serious Autumnal cutting-back has started and it’s heavy going in parts.

I’m going to leap into the outdoor bath once I’ve taken Bean for a walk, to ease a couple of aching muscles in my back. Bliss.

Extra added later :-) Muscles eased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.