Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Spooky Sellack Sight

It's been a beautiful sunny day, and just after midday we'd travelled the fifteen minutes from home to the little hamlet of Foy, nr Ross on Wye (Herefordshire) to do one of our favourite walks, a nine mile circular around the River Wye.

This weeks W-I-D-E on Wednesday Challenge is 'spooky' hosted by JensPhotos whilst I have a break. A difficult subject on a bright sunny day and I struggled. On crossing the footbridge at Sellack over the Wye river I saw the Reverend whom I now know to be Crispin Pemberton. It spooked me for a second as I know the history of Sellack footbridge.

 It was built in 1895 on money raised by local parishioners after the vicar at the time had difficulties getting between his two parishes either side of the river for services. The local ferryman was often drunk, abusive and even raised the fare. Thus the vicar at the time was instrumental in it being constructed. Couples have met for the first time on the bridge and married!

We chatted to Rev Pemberton for a while before the famous BBC Countryfile presenter John Craven arrived with film crew to interview Rev Pemberton about the bridge's history. I asked them for a photograph and they agreed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.