Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Looking For Someone To Blip On.


After posting yesterday's blip, I looked at the entries of others on this site. There, in a journal, I discovered something about Blip that I didn't know about and wasn't told. I wouldn't mind betting that many of you don't know either.

A few days ago, the Blip Blog reported on a new slogan ('Save Your Life') and a new Front Page. I thought no more about it as I never see the Front Page anyway. Even clicking on the 'Home' link just shows me the most recent posts to browse.

Here's what they didn't tell you:
Visitors to the site have to sign in with an email address and a password before they can see ANYTHING!

Only if the visitor to the the front page knows the URL of a journal can he/she (temporarily) by-pass the sign-up demand.
After viewing just three pages/blips (later increased to ten) the access is withdrawn and the sign-up demand reappears.

What sort of message do you think that gives to potential new members? I'd find it a deterrent and look elsewhere.
What about people you tell about your journal; friends, relatives etc?
I recently gave a talk to a Natural History Society, told them about Blip and handed a card to everyone. Now I doubt if any of them will come to visit with these obstacles in their way.

I won't go on any more about it - you can read more for yourselves in the forums (an area that I normally never visit).



This is getting depressing so I'm off out to down a few pints.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.