If Carlsberg made offices.... *

As days at work go, today was none too shabby. 

It's a real privilege to take people places like this, to have them put their trust in me. G and I know each other well now and I in turn trust her right there, equally she knows that in a few moves time I'll be right next to her with a guiding hand for a move I suspect she'll find tricky.

There was a social vibe on the hill today. Met one of my first ever clients, from before the days of Blip, the irrepressible P, now in his late 60's, out guiding a group of old work colleagues on a training hike for the Y3P. Moments later bumped into the lovely N, a client from last year who'd needed just a little specific training... She passed her Mountain Leader assessment last week, superb.

Later we applauded a nervous young lady who'd needed a little encouragement, she was overjoyed when I told her she'll find Striding Edge significantly easier than this. 
Before we headed off I also spent a whiles watching the two young men, full of bravado and not ready to take gentle advice. They sat Crag fast on the Ridge, unable to progress, not brave enough to retreat. Just as I thought I was going to have to go back down... They oh so slowly crawled down to the escape path. 
Never ever measure yourself by the achievements of others, the mountains will eventually make you be honest with yourself.

*Obviously if you translated this office to beer it would be one trazillion times better than the pish that Carlsberg make, but the power of advertising.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.