GenuineBlip

By GenuineBlip

Mah-Jongg Like Numbers Wins

Mah-Jongg is a tile-based game that was developed in 19th century China. In the late 1930's a group of Jewish women started playing  and formed the National Mah-Jongg league.  Every Thursday I play with a group of women that I absolutely adore...we are a mix of Jews by birth and conversion,  a Jewish Buddhist, and me - a post-Catholic Buddhist who used to live in Israel.  Our games are more about the laughter than the winning.  But I confess, I like winning.  I like the  endorphin rush that comes with completing a challenging puzzle.  Today, I won the first game with the tiles above, 'any like numbers' on the Mah-Jongg card. I  Mahj'd with "8"s  by picking up a flower to complete the four flowers, using 3 jokers (wild), plus the  four 8 dots, four 8 bamboos, two 8 craks.  It's a game of skill, strategy, and lotsa luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.