Awesome read

Written for middle grade children. Not for me. Not for 60 year old women. But I loved it. As much as I loved the Harry Potter books. In basics it's the same. A twelve year old discovers a whole new world and goes to a whole new school. But the author has really found great other magical twists to the story. It doesn't feel like a rip off at all. As much as I loved the minor part of the ghosts at Hogwarts I loved in this book the bigger part of the talking elevators each with their own personality.

In stead of school there is a summer camp. In stead of a clever white boy with a lousy home situation we have a 13 year old clever black girl with a loving mother living in the poor parts of town.

The book is as good as one of the later Harry Potter books. It reads like it's the last of a series where it's actually the first of a series. Now it's waiting for the second one to be published later this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.