Shrewd shrew

Abridged version:

I managed to rescue this teeny weeny shrew from Leo's claws.

Long boring version: 

When I came downstairs this morning, I knew from the way Leo lay staring under the television unit that something - usually a rodent of some kind that he has brought in to play with - was hiding there.

Sure enough, this tiny shrew eventually made a bid for freedom, but Leo was still lying in wait and must have stunned it in some way, because when I looked they were both stock-still and I was able to place this perspex canister over the poor terrified creature before Leo had another go at it.

Using the same method I have for capturing spiders, I slid a piece of stiff paper under the canister and lifted the shrew onto the kitchen table to take a photo of it to send to P. Of course Leo, quick as a flash, was onto the table right behind me and very frustrated that he couldn't get at his plaything.

Making sure I wasn't followed, I released the shrew into the wildest part of the wild garden and hope it avoids Leo's hunting prowess in future.

Extra  -  Leo watching intently


Gorgeous warm sunshine all day! It looks as if we're in for a lovely weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.