Straggler

If a student refuses to come inside after recess I often get called to come help out. This, however, was unusually ridiculous. 

I went outside and approached her at a 45 degree angle using a neutral stance. "This is curious," I said pleasantly, "Everyone else went inside, and now it's just you and me out here. Why do you think that happened?" She just gave me a beady-eyed look and walked away. Whenever I approached she moved away again. "I'm not here to be angry, my job is to help," I told her, "If you can use your words it will make my job a whole lot easier."

She started taking little hops and making croaking noises, which suggested my actions were simply making her more upset. I tried the "W.A.I.T." strategy. You know, "Why Am I Talking?" After some time this seemed to work and she came closer all on her own.

"I notice you seem hungry," I shared, "Your actions are telling me you could use a snack. Would you like a snack?" This seemed to get her attention. She perked up and looked at me keenly, coming a bit closer. "I've got all sorts of snacks in my room," I told her. "First, we need to come inside like everyone else. Then we can get a snack."

Just when I thought it was working, she flew off! I've been busy with paperwork ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.