NZ Autumn 2024

By AndrewNZ

Inspired show and tell

Inspired by Timmynomates brown bottle I remembered my glass jar!

When I was younger, much younger than today. I was driving trucks in and out of London and one of the jobs was loading spoil at the then being built Brent Cross shopping centre. one of the other drivers said once loaded check it for old bottles and today's Blip is one of the three bottles I found in 1974.
This bottle jar has Gillard & Co ltd London embossed on it and from the research I have done it seems it is from around 1840 to 1870 and was blown into a mold, on the bottom is embossed "99" which I though was the year but turns out to be the mold number. I can believe the age as it is a poor quality glass with many air bubbles and floors and does not have a flat base so it rocks. I originally thought it to be a milk bottle but it seems it was a pickle jar. The Extra shows the embossed London.

Maybe "Show and tell" should be a theme?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.