Life At Dragonfly Cottage

By MaitriLibellule

Octopus Stinkhorn... Seriously!

This peculiarly fascinating fungi have been growing all over the place since late fall and it has never grown here before. It was particularly bad over the winter and is described as smelling like rotting flesh. I kid you not, they were everywhere and gruesome smelling. They are still out there but fewer in number and I had to photograph one before they disappeared. (You'll notice that I am saying that with an incredibly hopeful voice. They WILL disappear, I'm begging Mother Nature! But they sure are fascinating.)

In case you are curious I thought I'd share this link and there are many more online but they are really fascinating.

http://www.floridata.com/tracks/transplantedgardener/stinkhorns.cfm

Here's hoping they never show up in YOUR yard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.