SightSinging

By SightSinging

Let there be music

For 2 whole days Dr Ron Newton (with Dr D's help) has been bringing my childhood piano back to life. A Broadly, it was purchased by my parents when I was 8 years of age and has been part of my life ever since. In the last couple of years the lead weights in the keys has begun to corrode , swelling and splitting  the wooden part that holds it and making some of the keys split. Ron removed all the keys, Dr D and my daughter trimmed every one (85 I think) with the special saw using a jig for exactitude, Ron treated every lead piece and then replaced each one into the rebuilt keys. A marathon. On completion this evening, he gave us a wonderful recital using my mother's and grandmother's old music. There were tears in my eyes. Such a treat. 
As if that wasn't enough, Ron also tuned the pipe organ in the shed and now at 9pm after dinner Dean has him looking at this old American pedal organ that we have had in our foyer for some years. We had it French polished when it arrived here about 26 years ago but it has never been playable. By the sounds emitting from the foyer, I suspect that is soon to to be remedied.
Such fun and such talent. Little Darcy has just wanted to spend his days out in the shed with the men doing all this manly fixing stuff , with his clever and competent mum part of the team too , of course . When the organ was finished in the shed, Ron played for 10 minutes while Darcy and his Mum danced an elegant waltz.
https://www.odt.co.nz/regions/north-otago/home-pipe-organs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.