More variation

Friends back at the hotel couldn’t believe we had escaped the torrential rain of yesterday. But that is the mystery of Madeira. The usual rainy and windy North of the island was delightful and the sunnier South quite a challenge.

Summer time clock changes but it was not swimming conditions for me this morning. It was pitch black of course. My balcony was awash and, had I had daylight, I could have shared the huge waves.

It eased a little and I headed down into the centre, via my favourite coffee shop. It rained, it stopped, all the seats were drenched…. But the service in the Cathedral was moving, well supported, and charming.

On the seafront the rain came and went. Raincoat repeatedly on and off until I caught the bus up to The Forum (a great place to shelter and shop). Madeiran little ones are so tiny, it’s a challenge buying for our sturdier Brits, but I managed items for our tiniest two girls (I hope). Snacks for the journey tomorrow (in the hope the planes can fly).

And at the hotel I could enjoy a blissful swim, before the rain and waves lashed again.

We have sea access, as shown in my photo. I only swim when it’s calm (and when my Norwegian friends are around to rescue me). When I was back on my balcony (soaked again) I could only see half height waves, but I hope this gives a flavour.

Good luck to my blipfriends who are coming out tomorrow. We’ll wave at the airport.

Extra: a favourite square just near the Cathedral. Please note the blue sky too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.