Nothing to Worry

Today I caught a bus up to Filey and walked out to the Brigg. To start with, the weather was a little overcast, but the visibility was quite good and once again it was calm. As I got to the Brigg, it was a little hazy, but not so bad that I couldn’t get one or two photos, including a pair of Fulmar on the cliffs. Also on the Brigg were a sizeable number of the North Yorkshire Constabulary and an equal number of Coastguards. Just as I was passing, they seemed to be hauling someone in climbing gear up over the edge. I didn’t get the sense that it was some kind of rescue, so perhaps it was an exercise. They were all saying “Well done, Andy” and as I returned, the climbing gear had disappeared and Andy was looking very relaxed, strolling back with two young women.. I thought he looked a little like Andy Serkis, but there were no cameras in evidence, so perhaps not. At the pool at the start of the Brigg, there was the wonderful sight of not only lots of frisky, noisy frogs and frog spawn, but also newts, toads and ribbons of toad spawn. Just then, a sea fret rolled in and the visibility became very poor, but the sun broke through overhead. On my way back, it was clear that the fret spread only a few hundred metres inland, and beyond that, the weather had turned fine and sunny, making for some spectacular views from the top deck of the bus on my ride back to Bridlington. A really enjoyable day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.