Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Camellia

On Braid Avenue. Another lovely day but I stayed in until late afternoon when I thought it would be quieter out. I also went to Blackford Pond where I hadn't been for ages. There was one of last year's cygnets still on the pond and while its parents were cold-shouldering it with wings raised, they weren't actually trying to drive it away, while I was there at least. There were a couple of moorhens, the usual mallards and a pair of tufted ducks. The water level was quite high, meaning that there isn't a huge amount of room on the island for nesting birds, including the swans. There was a lot of scum at the end of the pond nearest to the outflow which doesn't bode well for later in the year. 

I was in short sleeves, no heating on and a window open - but it's set to change to change midweek, with temperatures down to freezing and sleet showers. Oh well, it was great while it lasted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.