Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Spider ant symbiotics

What an extraordinary find and something that I have never witnessed before - a symbiotic relationship between a spider and an ant. Probably my best discovery since I started blipping.

Right at the start of my safari path, I spotted the spider. I don't think I have blipped this on but I wanted more images for my collection. The spider appeared to be eating a fly and as I started shooting, it seemed to have dropped the fly. But, as the spider scurried about the leaf, I realized that the fly was an ant, very alive and following the spider wherever it went, positioned underneath the spider with its head just beneath the deadly jaws.

The two got separated when the spider jumped to another leaf, leaving a trail of thread. The ant seemed to get agitated and seriously contemplated using the thread to catch up but decided against the idea. The ant eventually caught up with the spider, I am assuming it was the same ant, possibly not.

As the ant approached, it startled the spider, which squared up like it was going to attack. The ant backed off and re-approached and the relationship was renewed. Easily the most intriguing sight I have seen in the bug world so far.

I have read of a spider that lives in harmony with ants within the nest, the spider providing protection against intruders. There are also ant mimicking spiders, which are able to move freely amongst ants. The spiders hold up their front legs, to mimic antennae.

I haven't got a definitive ID for this spider yet and my ant shots didn't turn out well, but I can always get more shots of the ant, with its distinctive large red eyes.

It's Singapore VISA run time again. Not the 8 day extravaganza that I went through two months ago, as I have managed to secure a reasonably priced airline ticket, allowing me to complete the return journey in a single day. But, this does mean that tomorrow's blip will be at least five hours later than normal, if indeed it happens at all.

The plan is to do a 'big butterfly day' at Singapore's Changi airport butterfly garden, in terminal 3. I read that there is some work going on, but most of the garden will still be open to the public.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.