Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Round 2

Another glorious day in Edinburgh, though our necessarily early rising had us looking out at mist swirling round the magnolia trees (middle right on collage) which still tended to make a reappearance later in the morning down at Seafield football pitches, where James (two top photos) was playing in another Spartans team. He played so well - there were three of us on the sidelines shouting him on - though the other team won today. We were laughing at the difference a couple of years make to these teams - this lot were still wee boys, and the language was a great deal less colourful than in yesterday's match.

Meanwhile photos were coming in of Catriona, last night's trombonist, fighting boys in a fencing tournament because the girls she should have been put against had tested positive for Covid. We last saw her fencing a month before the first lockdown, but I've included one of her dad's photos above (left centre) in honour of the gold medal she was awarded this morning. 

The rest of the day was taken up by Mothering Sunday celebrations - #2 son arrived at breakfast with champagne and chocolates, and later we were treated to a wonderful afternoon tea in the garden of a big house, now a hotel, within walking distance of where we were. It was marvellously indulgent to eat crustless sandwiches and little scones and a variety of small and delicious cakes, under an awning in a sunny garden, with four mothers - myself, my daughter-in-law, her sister, and her mother - as well as attendant chaps. That's the bottom right photo - and well done to my #1 son for organising it! 

The bottom left photo is of a shop we passed on the way to the football - I just thought it was lovely. 

After all that we packed up the car and came home. I've had a lovely weekend; I know how lucky I am. I also know how remiss I've been at visiting and commenting on the journals I usually enjoy so much - I've just had so much on my plate that I couldn't concentrate. 

I'll be back - but right now I'm off to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.