Tourists Beware

Our lunch spot was beside the Buller River at Berlins.  This giant sand fly sculpture  has been constructed in the camp grounds.  If it is not clear the insect is holding a giant knife and folk.  Sadly the newly painted cafe and camp are closed perhaps due to the lack of tourists due to Covid.  The sand flies on the West Coast are notorious for being a biting plague.  Our drive to Westport was uneventful on a beautiful sunny day.  We stopped in at the Coal Mining Museum to get some background before we go to the Denniston Plateau on Wednesday.  Tonight we are in Karamea staying at the hotel.  It is an old building from 1911 but it has attached motel units and a park for camper vehicles.  We had a delicious dinner where I had the whitebait and the forester had the seafood chowder.   Earlier we worked up an appetite by walking around the estuary and river walk.  Tomorrow we go further north to the end of the road really where the Heaphy Track starts or ends depending which direction you are walking.  I'm also hoping to photograph at the Oparara limestone arches.  

Shoo Fly                           Traditional


Shoo fly don't bother me
Shoo fly don't bother me
Shoo fly don't bother me
for I belong to somebody.
I feel I feel,
I feel like a morning star
I feel I feel . . . 
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.