Encounter With Ukraine

This Sunday started with a heavy damp fog. A darker morning following the "spring forward" by the clocks.

Following my work on the St. Leonard’s Website after listening to and publishing the church service video to coincide with the live service, Pat and I headed off to Stonehaven by a circuitous route.

The planned route took us by Kineff Church and Catterline. Catterline is a familiar name to people who know the artistic work of Joan Eardley.

The main photo was taken by Pat and shows a field of Daffodils, which is a crop in this area. The blue sky is hidden in part by the sea fog. 

The first extra is of a hut down on the shore at Catterline. The fog is apparent. I walked over to the hut and I passed to young women, chatting to each other as they were loading up their water sport gear. I thought they were speaking in Gaelic. I returned after my exploration of the little red roof building.

The women were still chatting and I asked if they were speaking Gaelic.  ‘No, We are speaking in Russian, our common language’.

Our conversation continued and one Russian speaker has family in Lativa. The second speaker’s family are in Ukraine. Naturally, we talked a lot about their relatives. The conversation was very moving and we parted as friends with a deep understanding between us.

The other extra is the Kineff Church.

We arrived in Stonehaven to collect our order of ice cream and then journeyed home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.