Ted3

By Ted3

Plum blossum

I rarely rise before 10am, being a bit of a night owl. This morning however, id read there was to be a little more cloud to create a  more diffuse light early on.
I rose at 8 am, narrowly missing golden hour but i knew i would be in for a shout for a decent pic of our first blossom before the sun got to laree.  
We need to hand pollinate both our plum and greengage as there are few insects to pollinate them. The apples and pears being later, are eagerly mobbed by a variety of bumblers, namely the common carder and the white tail being the most common however, the red tail bumbler can be quite regular later in the spring. 
As many of you have witnessed blossom much earlier, this is just another pic.
 I was aiming for shallow depth of field composition. Shooting at f2.8 would allow for this providing the sun was still wearing shades! I'm sure i could have achieved greater sharpness with a tripod, time however, was against me. Hand holding is difficult for me but  the lens did have some stabilisation, whereas this old camera has none, has been round the clock, but still produces great photos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.