Avocet

It was raining when we woke up! A bit of a shock after the week we have had.
Undeterred, we set off for Leighton Moss RSPB reserve. After living here for thirty years, we have only visited twice! So it was about time to go.
We had a wonderful visit! The hides bring you right into the heart of the reed bed with close views of the birds. We saw four marsh harriers and a pair of garganey. The tower hide is a delight, and if the ospreys nest this year it will be incredible.
We were so impressed that we decided to join for a year and try and visit more frequently.
We then set off for the Morecambe Bay reserve down the road, but as we got there I realised to my horror that I had left my binoculars hanging on the back of a chair in the café! I drove back pretty quickly with my heart in my mouth and rushed in to ask at the desk, and to my immense relief they had already been handed in!!! Phew!
I drove back a little more sedately and had a look in the lovely hides that face out towards the bay. Here, there are electric fences to guard the lagoon so avocets may safely breed. There were plenty to see, and then to crown the day an osprey appeared in the distance, eating a fish.
Quite a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.