Loon

I explored a new bit of the marsh today! Thanks to google and their satellite maps I was able to discern what looked like a path in a rather remote location (remote for me, anyway). A quick email to the Friends of the Marsh confirmed this, so off I went to explore the area known as the Key.

The weather forecast had been promising, but unfortunately it was rather dull. And no brant geese today (the Key would have been perfect for photographing them), in fact very few water birds at all :( I did see a swallow - doesn't make a summer, I know....

One of the frustrating things about photography at Belle Isle from the main public access route is that the morning light is in the wrong direction. Now I know about this "secret" path, perhaps I can have another go at photographing egrets. Not that the egrets are back yet, or anything. And life being life, they would probably seem just remote from here (although beautifully lit).

But I digress. I was not expecting to see a loon at Belle Isle - never really thought it was loon country, so I was surprised and delighted when this guy came swimming along. It's a young one, maybe he's a bit off course. A big crop, but definitely the most interesting thing that I saw on my morning walk. Who knew we had loons in the city?

Belle Isle Marsh, Boston

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.