Holiday reading

These are the books that I have been reading on holiday.

I enjoyed 1Q84. It's beautifully written and raises some interesting philosophical questions, with clever cross references to 1984. There is a supernatural element to the plot which I didn't realise at first. I think it's important to be "open" to this to appreciate the story fully.

For the most part How to be a woman is a great, fast read. I preferred the "serious" sections, where I found myself agreeing wholeheartedly with Moran's take on the idiotic things that women do on the most dubious of grounds.

I loved Special topics in calamity physics and recommend it highly. It's extremely well-written with a tight plot, great characterisation, and wonderful referencing. If you follow up my recommendation, try to avoid reading the detail on the book cover or the introduction. I would have enjoyed the book more had I not spent the first half wondering when the "main event" was going to strike.

I haven't finished the Pregnant widow. It's trundling along OK, but I do find Amis' written style a bit stifled.

This is the last of my holiday blips. I have backblipped the full set:

Saturday 6th April 2013: Room 3805
Sunday 7th April 2013: Fern fan
Monday 8th April 2013: Fern blind
Tuesday 9th April 2013: Columns by the pool
Wednesday 10th April 2013: Flamingo
Thursday 11th April 2013: Courting peacocks
Friday 12th April 2013: Will you marry me?
Saturday 13th April 2013: Holiday reading

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.