Oh deer .....

I arrive early for my u3a meeting at M's so took a wee stroll around the gardens of the Green Park Hotel which sits on Loch Faskally at the north end of town. 

We have eaten there but had never explored the grounds - I'm glad I did today as they were really nice with lots of sculptures (in an interesting mix of styles)  and seating areas.

The business part of the meeting was concluded quickly - we are a small u3a so relatively straightforward - but enjoyed a good chat afterwards. 

I'm still feeling more tired than usual and decided against both Country Dancing tonight and yoga tomorrow.  

The rest of the day has been spent researching ancestors from Perthshire & Angus including   a 5th Great Aunt from Coupar Angus  and  who emigrated to America in 1827 with her husband and younger children. Her husband was a shoemaker and one son a joiner and another a mason. However a number of family trees have her eldest son as a minister in the United Presbyterian Church , emigrating to America as a missionary around 1816 (aged about 30) having studied at Edinburgh University. This seems strange to me and I wonder if it just a coincidence that there was a minister from Scotland with the same name as their eldest son (John Donaldson). More digging required. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.