Tiny Hummingbird

The only reason I could get such a close up shot is that she comes regularly to this same branch of a spent grevillea flower and sits there for ages. I've never seen a hummingbird sit still for such long periods of time without moving. I worried that there was something wrong with her but she seems to be able to fly. She doesn't feed while she is sitting, but if you look closely at this shot you can see her tongue. She was gone for awhile and I assumed she had resumed normal activity, but today she was back. I have absolutely no expertise in hummingbird health, but can only hope that she is ok.

Otherwise a pretty quiet day. All is quiet at he rock cliff house. They even took away to worst of the beeping machines on a flatbed truck, but that doesn't mean it won't come back. Surely this equipment is needed elsewhere. Today there were several guys walking around looking at the foundations and the trenches. I assume they are inspectors. I hope they approve everything so that work can begin on the framing....

I realize that creating a huge mound of dirt somewhere is part of the construction process and assume that it gets put back or hauled off somewhere because new houses don't have mounds of raw dirt near them.

We took Spike for a walk and met a man with a beautiful 4 month yellow lab puppy named Miley. She was a bundle of energy and he was patiently training her to walk on a lead. They have a way to go....
We managed to keep Spike out of the pond filled with newt egg sacks.
My extra is a picture of him at his post waiting to lick the extra foam out of my coffee. He's trying to be patient....

Not much else to report today. I made chicken soup, balanced my checkbook and wrote a note to my long lost friend. John went to the store and took a nap.

The fog has cleared and the blue sky has returned. We got a little over an inch of rain. Not enough to end the drought but certainly enough to wash the dust off of everything and turn the grass a little greener.

In other news...even though Chris Rock made a joke about his wife, I think Will Smith behaved badly jumping to the Oscar stage, hitting Rock, and going back to his seat shouting expletives. It certainly brought the Hollywood audience to a shocked silence, and became the slap heard round the world. Later, when accepting his best actor Oscar award he gave a rambling, teary, somewhat incoherent speech about loving everybody. I wonder what he was smoking....

He apologized, several times, once even to Rock, but it all seemed, as we say...a day late and a dollar short. And probably not what it takes to improve the moribund ratings for this awards ceremony for movies nobody has seen. I was happy that CODA won the Oscar for best picture.

Thanks to JDO for hosting the Tiny Tuesday challenge this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.