Living my dream

By Mima

Yum, yum, yum, yum.

Clockwise from top left: unnamed heritage eating apples, blackboy peaches, Winter Nellis pears, more eating apples.

One bucket of apples is in the cool store, waiting for space in the dehydrator. I needed to pick them today because the birds were starting to make major inroads into the crop.

The pears will mostly be bottled, although I’ll keep some for eating fresh.

The peaches will be bottled or frozen, and need to be tackled first as they will go over quickly. So that’s a job for tomorrow.

It’s been a glorious warm sunny autumn day. I spent the morning weeding in farmers En and Arr’s garden, while Bean snoozed in the back of the car.

The extra is Arr showing off the first parsnip of the year. She hadn’t been sure if there was any root beneath the lush foliage. I’ll say there was! She’s a rightfully proud gardener.

We came home via other friends’ orchard to fill the buckets, and a lovely walk when Beanio romped and ploughed her way through the pond with great enthusiasm, then raced around the paddock at full speed to show me how happy she was.

A lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.