Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

It Came!

The snow that the forecasters have been warning us about for a week arrived on time today. Though you had to be quick to spot it - it fell for about ten minutes, soft and soggy flakes, and ten minutes later they were gone, melted. There's still quite a covering on the higher ground, but down here there was nothing to see, and the sun even came out this afternoon. It is cold, though.

We had to go shopping for ingredients for tomorrow's lunch, so took the opportunity for a walk through Wilton Park. I met another photographer who told me he'd just got a wonderful shot of two dippers having what sounded like a dog-fight. All I saw were ducks.

Now I'm off to bake a cake - a scented rose-geranium cake. I cut the recipe out of a magazine years ago, and nowI have a lovely 'Attar of Roses' plant on the sitting room window sill, so I'm going to give it a go. You served it with cardamom flavoured creme fraiche, that bit should be ok.

According to the writer 'it has made people weep with anticipation'. Fingers crossed mine doesn't just make them weep.

The extra is a picture that my cousin sent me yesterday. I'm putting it here just in case I happen to lose it, as sometimes happens with the pictures Stan sends me. I don't want to lose this one - my Dad looking like a 30s gangster! I've never seen it before.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.