LittleGlimpse

By LittleGlimpse

Nanjing

There is a holiday in China known as QingMing Festival aka Tombsweeping Day. It is a day where traditionally Chinese people visit the tombs of their ancestors. For me, it meant a four day weekend. A friend and I decided to visit Nanjing for three days.

It was a quick hour trip on the bullet train and after we checked in our hotel, we set off the explore a bit of the city. The only thing we had planned for the day was to find a stone wall which is still reminent in bits and pieces in places in Nanjing.

Nanjing is located in eastern Jiangsu and many times in history has been the capital of China. The place we went today is known as the Stone City Ruins Park of Nanjing. The wall was built over 600 years ago and is the oldest standing wall in China.

That being said, my friend and I just had a nice day walking around in the sunshine, climbing the wall, and an interesting adventure trying to find our way off the wall. I have learned that I should not be allowed to navigate. Or if I do navigate, it may be best if I stay to the beaten path.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.