DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Staying afloat

Another hectic day at work, but I’m loving it!!

Linda messaged to say she’d been delayed, so could I look after the guys who were coming to measure up for our new surgeries.
Rightly or wrongly, my input on the configuration for what will be surgery 3 meant a total change of their plans, but a much better layout.
What always seems to happen (and this has been a grumble throughout my career) is that there’s loads of room on the dentists side of the room and the nurses are always squished in a corner. Seeing as the dentists have everything handed to them, I feel the nurses should be granted the extra space.
I got the girls involved and they were 100% behind my way of thinking, which was fantastic. I think they liked being given the opportunity to give their input too.

Next task was addressing the trainee situation. Ground rules have been set and she is to be under my watchful eye for the next 6 weeks. I do feel for her; she’s a troubled soul with a complicated home life (though the boyf is gone so hopefully no more hickies!!), but she can’t let things at home ruin an opportunity to build a career for a better future.

Lunch was taken up with a training session for patient finance. This was something I needed to know, but again I got a couple of the girls involved so that we all know how it works and what to do.
There have been grumbles that they often get overlooked for training, so I’m making it my mission to include them in as many things as possible, which they do seem to be really appreciative of.

Linda dropped the bombshell today that she’s decided to drop Fridays after her holidays, so this gives me a bit of validation that I’m doing ok so far. I just need to shine through the next two weeks then she may decide to retire completely! ;-)

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.