wrperry

By wrperry

Owl Eye

In my quest for fresh air and a short walk I went to a local nature center.  I was hoping to find a bird species that I wouldn't see in my yard, and I did do that.  At least I've never seen Eastern Screech Owls here.  I've noticed a large cage outside at the center, but it has never been occupied.  Today there was this tiny red-morph owl.  I wish I knew if it was rehabilitated, because it would have made me feel better to find it caged.  There were no signs with the bird's history, and I found nothing online, other than the fact that they have an owl in residence.  The bird didn't seem disturbed by visitors, but I stood way back to get this photo.  Then, I had time on my hands, so I  cropped in and added a texture.  If you look closely you can see the reflection of the cage in his eye. I guess it goes without saying that it's best in large.  I added a different version as an extra. 

I guess it's my week for owls, given the Barred Owl that I've blipped a few times recently.  Thank you for all of your generous comments!  There certainly is something special about these birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.