Light snowfall

As forecast the temperature dropped and we had a little snow.

Not as forecast the central heating boiler didn’t come on as programmed at 7am so I got up and found first that an electric circuit had tripped and second that the boiler didn’t come on when I reset it. On inspection the pressure in the system had dropped very low so I turned the tap and topped it up a small amount and it sparked into life.
( I hadn’t checked it for long time ).
I assume it was when it tried to start it tripped the electric? 
Anyway it’s been OK since.
BUT
The gas fire won’t light - the pilot won’t stay on.  I took it all apart and cleaned it and it still won’t light.  One way to save gas,  don’t use it but I will get an engineer to fix it one day.

There was also a little water coming into the house from the flat roof as the snow melted so I investigated that cleared the roof of water and identified a possible crack and added sealant. It didn’t look like the water was near electrics but of course that could trip the circuit breaker.  I don’t think it was that otherwise it would just have tripped again and again.

We went to M&S for a few things in the afternoon (all the snow had melted) and walked down in warm sunshine and yes it snowed on the way back up and the view of the hills has completely obscured.

The Snake Pass reopened yesterday with a weight limit and 3 sets of traffic  lights where there landslips occurred. I didn’t investigate that.  I don’t think the snow closed it for any of the day but it usually gets closed when it snows.

Very tired but will I sleep.  Just watched  BBC2 programme about sleep and that kept me wide awake :-)

No April Fool tomorrow I will opt for a quieter day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.